Sticky Windows – Now Universal

10 04 2007

Sticky Windows ScreenshotAlmost a year ago I blogged about a piece of software that allows you to very usefully create tabs out of any windows you have on any side of your screen. Very useful if you regularly have a lot of windows open, and don’t want to minimise them to the same place on the dock where they can get lost and mixed up.

4 days ago, this software was finally updated to a Universal Binary and now works properly on Intel Macs!

Developer: Donelleschi Software
System Requirements: Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger – Universal
Download Link: http://www.donelleschi.com/stickywindows/
(908.0KB disk image)

Actions

Information

8 responses

10 04 2007
Andrew

I just installed this yesterday, it’s really useful but a shame about the amount of pink they they use for everything!

10 04 2007
Andrew

Sticky Windows is suddenly dead to me!!

It has the most intrusive “buy now” function ever, it actually hijacked my finder.

DEAD TO ME!!

10 04 2007
RyanC

Yeah yeah, but its very cheap ๐Ÿ™‚

I emailed the author of the software and asked him if he planned to allow people to change the colour scheme it used to better fit in with their system settings, like if I could use graphite to match my preferences.

His reply was “yes” so I guess a future version will be coming soon.

Also it would be nice if you could set which sides of the screen to allow the tabs to appear on, because I really don’t want to be able to put them at the top of the screen for example.

12 04 2007
Angela

I have to agree with Andrew. After the buy now window popped up, I immediately uninstalled the program. The idea is nice though. I wonder why apple took it out of the mac os.

13 04 2007
RyanC

I never knew that, was this part of System 9 then?

14 04 2007
Angela

Yes, it was part of os 9, at least that’s what I’ve read. This macworld article about sticky windows mentioned it.
http://www.macworld.com/weblogs/macgems/2007/04/stickywindows/index.php

14 04 2007
RyanC

Ah I see. It seems MacWorld asked the developer about customising the colour too ๐Ÿ™‚

18 04 2007
RyanC

Well I heard back from the developer today, who sent me a beta version for me to test, which allows you to pick any colour from a colour picker window to use, instead of the pink. It also allows you to select which screen corners you can use create tabs on, which for me is fantastic!

More information as I get it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

