MacBook’s Back!

28 06 2006

Well…the more perceptive of my readers (if there are any left) may have noticed that it’s been a while since my last post. Well I’ve had a lot of problems with getting my MacBook repaired properly, in fact it went back in for repair a total of three times before it was repaired properly!

1st Repair – two weeks
Well the initial problem was that the screen latch had begun to jam and therefore I couldn’t open the screen unless I jiggled it about a bit… I had also spotted a slight noise emanating from the screen unless it was set at either 0% or 100% brightness. Other than that there was nothing wrong with it.

After receiving the call to say it was back in for repair I went to collect it, and then took it home, however as soon as I woke it from sleep, it Kernel panicked. So I rebooted it and it did the same thing again, in fact it did it about 7 or 8 times in the space of half an hour, so I decided that since the main logic board had been replaced, I would reinstall Mac OS X.

After doing that and updating to the latest firmware and software patches, I was up and running, but the Kernel Panics still occasionally struck. Additionally the unit now ran staggeringly hot, which wasn’t an issue before – the base of the notebook literally became too hot to touch, and the palm-rest was quite warm also. Finally I noticed a very loud and irritating hi-frequency noise coming from the middle of the case, as well as the screen buzzing which hadn’t been fixed.

So the only thing that had been fixed was the screen latch, the other issue I mentioned had been ignored and more problems had been created!!!

2nd Repair – one week
After taking the notebook back to the Apple Store and explaining my frustrations, it was taken in for repair once again. This time when it came back, the heat problem had been solved and the notebook was back to its usual operating temperature, however the screen buzzing and hi-frequency noise were still there.

Now the screen buzz I could live with, as I usually have the screen set to 100% brightness, which makes it go silent, but the hi-frequency one was very irritating, and seemed to change the pattern it made depending on what you were running at the time.

In fact I found the only way I could make it stop completely was to run PhotoBooth and then minimize it to the dock. Not the best way to extend your battery life, but a quick fix nontheless. The hi-frequency noise was so irritating it stopped you using the computer, it gave me a headache and was just not acceptable, so I decided to take the notebook in for repair once again.

AppleCare has a policy that after three unsuccessful repairs, they will replace the item with a new one, so I thought what do I have to lose, and agreed to be without the computer for another week.

3rd Repair – four days
This time when I took the unit in, I had some trouble convincing the staff there to repair the notebook for the third time. Apparently the whining noise I was experiencing was being caused by the fans and was “within specification”. I was a little taken aback that I was basically being told to live with it, especially with how much a MacBook Pro costs.

After about 20 minutes or so of my arguing about it, demanding it be repaired or refunded, they sent me about 3 or 4 different staff members until finally one of them agreed to have it taken in for repair again. Whether or not it would come back repaired was irrelevant since I could have it replaced for a new one that hopefully would be perfect.

About 4 days later, I received a call, and fingers crossed I went to the store to pick it up. Checking the notebook in the store I couldn’t hear anything coming from it, which was good, even in the busy store I had been able to hear a slight whining beforehand, so I thanked the assistant and took it home for further examination.

I can now report (fingers crossed it stays this way) that the notebook is now silent apart from the expected fan noise which is barely audible anyway! Not only that but it is running even cooler than it had been initially, I’m very impressed with it!

So basically I finally have the MacBook Pro working as it should have, but I am very disappointed in Apple for it having taken so long to fix. Many of my friends who were tempted to switch to an Apple Mac after seeing my positive experience have been a little put off by it, and myself as an enthusiastic Apple customer has been left feeling extremely frustrated and disappointed, but I can at least say that they got it right the third time!

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 06 2006
Khiscott

I had issues with heat and the whine and luckily when I eventually brought it back in to the Apple Store they just replaced it (after an over night diagnostic) with the new 2.16GHz ones and even a 7200RPM drive!
Its still a hot portable (as all powerbooks have been) and the whine is only noticeable when hooked up to my cinema display… and even then sometimes it just vanishes…
anyway, I’m sorry you had to go through so much just to get it working right… at least now you’re left with a really slick macbook 🙂

2 07 2006
RyanC

Yeah I’m just glad its over, and its working properly now – the heat isn’t a problem at all now until you start working it hard, then it does warm up, but its still not too bad, and expected.

Even when playing some graphically intensive games when booted into XP, it doesn’t get that hot! So pleased its finally fixed!

7 07 2006
Atariboy

Ryan = one of my fav macboys

He doesnt mind pointing out the bad points of apple, and so you can have a proper converstion with him about apple products rather than being told apple is the be-all and end-all of computing!

13 07 2006
RyanC

Hehe thanks, I do admit that Mac’s might not be perfect for everyone, all I can do is speak about my personal experiences with them compared to other systems, and hope it helps anyone who is unsure. 😛

28 08 2006
Return of MacBook Pro Troubles « iBlog

[…] Well since the last time I talked about my MacBook Pro it was working properly at long last, and has been up until recently, when I started experiencing problems again: […]

Leave a Reply

