Software Review: Sticky Windows

25 04 2006

Sticky Windows is an application which is very clever and also quite useful.Sticky Windows Screenshot Imagine if you work with a lot of windows a lot of the time. If you want to get rid of a few to claim back some precious screen real-estate, but you don't want them gone completely, you could just minimise them to the dock, right?

My only problem (and its one you get used to I guess) is that its not that easy to identify a particular window amongst many if you have a few in the dock. Plus when you open one, if you re-minimise it, the window will go right back to the end, so its not in the same place it was last time.

You could also use the 'Hide' context command, but thats rather too "all or nothing" for my liking – sometimes you have multiple windows from one application open, and perhaps you only want to hide just one or two of them?

The solution is Sticky Windows. Once this little application is up and running, you can drag a window to the edge of the screen, where upon it is transformed into a tab, along with an icon and name, like the one shown in the small screenshot above.

Clicking a tab displays the window instantly, clicking it again hides that window. To remove the tab, just drag it off the edge and it will vanish in a poof of smoke. You can move the tabs along the window edge, and tabs can be created on either side or the bottom of the screen.

I find it much faster than minimising to the dock, if you have a *lot* of windows open, as you control where the tab is, and can go instantly back to find the specific window you need.

The only downside with Sticky Windows is that there is no Universal binary yet, and although it will run on an Intel Mac, when you try to create a tab, the window itself doesn't disappear. Hopefully an updated version will be along soon.

Developer: Donelleschi Software
System Requirements: Mac OS X 10.3 or Mac OS X 10.4 – PowerPC only
Download Link: http://www.donelleschi.com/stickywindows/
(943.8KB disk image)

Actions

Information

8 responses

10 04 2007
iBlog Sticky Windows - Now Universal «

[…] Windows – Now Universal April 10th, 2007 — RyanC Almost a year ago I blogged about a piece of software that allows you to very usefully create tabs out of any windows you have […]

6 09 2007
Shahzad khan

Hi, I recently came across this piece of software from lifehacker.com, now unfortunately I m a Windows user (though saving for a mac), i m curious if there’s any such application for the windows machine. I m sick of the taskbar. Please if you can reply to either my email address or leave a comment on my blog.

thanks !

peace
-mE

3 10 2007
RyanC

Hey, sorry for taking so long to reply, I’ve not been checking this blog for ages.

I can’t say I’ve ever used anything like that on Windows, but I could be wrong as it has been a while since I used Windows as my main computer, sorry I can’t be of more help.

Thanks,
Ryan

20 04 2008
Wyatt Skinner

noctiferous soundly ashamnu fosterite phagocytosis exorcism electrosurgical gibbals
Dekalb County Poultry and Egg Association
http://www.benjarongthairestaurant.com/

22 10 2010
anitha1234

Best Software Downloads and Reviews. the most comprehensive source for free-to-trysoftware downloads on the WebBEST 4 DOWNLOADS

8 04 2013
super cricket games

Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you
knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding
one? Thanks a lot!

24 04 2013
Blake

I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page layout
of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images.
Maybe you could space it out better?

2 05 2013
Marilou

Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I
came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and
will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and
excellent design.

Leave a Reply

